Thursday, December 10, 2009

Birthday Message: I want you Back

"And yeah, to Twist (again) because you became my comfort when I was sad. You became my best friend here in Lyce, Nobody can replace your Ideas, your visions (really?), your artwork (cool, hehe), and your humor, I became much more than an otaku, really!"

- Birthday Message, 2006


"Now, this last words will be dedicated to you, Yes, You, You know who you are, I know you are in pain and in hate because of what I did to you. But I know from my innermost soul that you needed a person who will listen to you, As you have said it before ...

"You're the one who listens to me regardless, you let me vent my frustrations on you....I'm learning from you too, you know. Its 'cause you're around that I know where I want to be."

I am still here, accepting you with open arms. I have already forgiven you from the start. Now it's your turn. It's time to listen to your heart, eat your pride, and rethink about what you had done to me."

- Birthday Message, 2008


-----------------------------------------------------------

Ever since I first met you, I was so blown away, I never forgot every inch and every second that we bonded, I never felt more secured in my life.

But since we went to a war, I cried endlessly, I had been depressed. I cannot cope up, And I didn't know what to do.

But I will never give up

I may have lost you, But I will never give up on a friendship. If you told me to get a life, I will get a life.

And that is my Friendship with you.

A lot of my friends believed I never failed them. I believe them. I believe too that I WAS NOT the failure of our friendship.

I had my shortcomings, and you know that.

But you never admitted you had your shortcomings. I tried to understand you, and you basically knew that.

But you still did not change.

Now, I will try whatever means to get my old friend back. I have nothing to lose, because I believe my real friends will understand me.

I tried to move on, but all I got was nothing.

From now on, I will not stop. I will promise myself to bring this friendship back. Whatever the odds, whatever the consequences.

Even if the cost of it is my own dignity, and my life.



I want you back dude. I really need you as a bestfriend.


------------------------------------

That is my birthday message, A lot shorter and no thank-yous. But It still has that wish that I really long for since that day in 2007.


-HeAdIn'-OuT!-

Tuesday, December 8, 2009

December Thoughts: Thank you for the Torment

Thank you to all the people who made me realize that I am such a loser for this year, if not because of you, You made me look like a prime jerk.

Thank you to all the people who made me look bad for the past year. If not because of you, I almost killed myself.

Thank you to all the people who called me by such names as a fag, stalker and etc., because I almost lost my sense of identity.

Thank you to all the people who told me I am pathetic, because you made me feel like one.

Thank you to all the people who told me I am a liar, because that remark tagged me as an inconceivable liar to the community.

Thank you to all the people who tried to stall everything in my path, because I was not able again to revive a friendship and do my job freely as the Chief Anime Correspondent.

and Thank you to all the people who told me I failed. because right now, I failed again for this year, my 21st in my life.




If you knew I was the one talking to you, then you should not reply, If you reply, then it meant that you denied everything you did to me. A double-edged sword when you read this post.

For the past year, I was subjected to all the ups and downs of my life. And those people who continually torment me are one of those people who really influenced me truly.

I only knew a few people who really believe in me, and I know them all.

And I want to tell you something before I end this post. Then, as always, I will still continue to do my job as the Chief Anime Correspondent, and I will still continue to pursue this friendship even if the cost of this is my own dignity and my own life.

-HeAdIn'-OuT!-

Monday, November 2, 2009

Insights Inside: Everything Else was Super

THE PAST MONTH was full of super surprises, super M and A news in the broadcast biz, and a super destructive program. Of course, we also experienced the wraths of superstorms and super grandstanding among the politicos in our midst.

Let me take you in a Super Journey in these issues.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

THE BIGGEST SUPER surprise last October was MediaQuest Holdings'  Acquisition of both ABC Development Corp. and Primedia Inc., which owns and manages TV5, this year's biggest comer in all of Philippine TV.

TV5 sure was hell bent in being the third force in Pinoy TV by bringing in destructive hits like Talentadong Pinoy and Who Wants To Be A Millionaire?. It also brought terrorizing Anime hits that would look ABS-CBN and Hero a lone turkey in the oven like Shakugan No Shana, Mai-HiME, Code Geass, and the explosive Same-year airing of Animax's hit Full Metal Alchemist: Brotherhood.

MediaQuest, meanwhile, is PLDT's Media Holding company, though not owned directly by the PLDT Group per se. MediaQuest Holdings is owned by the PLDT Beneficial Trust Fund, the Retirement Fund of the telecom giant. MediaQuest has assets in Nation Broadcasting Corp., BusinessWorld, SkyCable, and GV Broadcasting, which they renamed as MediaScape, which operates the Smart myTV DVB-H Platform and, more recently, Cignal Satellite TV.

PLDT, as you all know, is hell bent on buying a Broadcast asset, more specifically, a very good TV broadcast asset other than it's current NBC asset for it's convergence strategy specifically for Smart and Cignal. It almost bought GMA Network and wanted to buy either RPN or IBC. But TV5 became very attractive to PLDT because of it's current standing in the TV ratings race and also a threat from Primedia's Malaysian backer, Media Prima, to bolt.

The price for the whole ABC deal, according to Manny Pangilinan, was at estimated "Less than PHP5 Billion"

Now that MediaQuest is now on the fray on improving ABC and TV5, what will these changes mean for the anime industry? Will MediaQuest scrap the current anime lineup or will provide fresh new financing to poach more better and more destructive anime titles in the future?

And will TV5 now cover Level Up Live in the Future???

As the very good wise men always say, Time will Tell.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

SUPER AS IT may seems, but ABS-CBN's Super Inggo Animation is anything but good. Super Inggo is the most advertised animated program on the block right now, inaptly called "Team Animazing", complete with the crappiest bumpers and the most disgusting Theme music ever.

I smirked when it made a launch on ASAP 09 one Sunday afternoon in October, and why should I? because it is the most fabricated crap in all of TV since GMA started their Teleseryes in 2004.

Super Inggo is Anything but new, because basically, it is just a retelling of the Super Inggo series that was made in 2005, helmed by the great director Manong Gilbert Perez.

And Anime Fans are now insulted right now because of the Hosts' tagging that this is the First "Pinoy Anime Series" in the country. Well, how many times are we now insulted because of this tagging? Oh yeah, back when Super Inggo was also tagged that way and also Rounin?

Why can't ABS-CBN just spend a good deal of its budget for Super Inggo to poach anime titles for the Parent network, Studio 23 and Hero? That way, they could compete more better than TV5 and Animax, which needless to say, is now leveling-up in terms of their innovative same-week and same-time telecasts from Japan.

Please, ABS-CBN, it doesn't matter if it's made a year ago or have been spent millions of pesos for that. Just give us what we need. MAR is Nice and so as Soul Eater and Gintama. But we need More, MORE!

Like Macross Frontier and Gundam 00.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

I WAS NOT
Surprised when some events are now being postponed or being moved because of the typhoons we are experiencing. Of course it's the normal thing to do for the safety of the anime populace.

But for this month, we will have almost all of our weekends and a holiday being shot for the big anime events.

Starting this 7th, Level-Up! Live is going to be held at the World Trade Center, and the 8th is Anime Overload at the SMX.

21st and the 22nd will be the third staging of Mangaholixx Manga Mania also at the WTC, and 28th will be AME No Jidai, AME's first event outside the Bahay ng Alumni to be held at the sprawling A-Venue Events Hall.

Capping off the month is the highly controversial HeroNation, to be held on the 30th also at A-Venue Events Hall in Makati.

Well, at least all the events are held in November!

-------------------------------------------------------------------

FOR OUR FINAL WORD,
I know it's been a tough 2 months for us, But Christmas is just around the corner. Share a smile with your friends, and let the good times roll!

-------------------------------------------------------------------

Twitter > twitter.com/knightkira
Facebook > facebook.com/knightkira
correspondent.kira@gmail.com

Saturday, October 17, 2009

The Journal: In Response

I feel a lot more sadder and sadder not by what I have done, but on what I should have not done.

I knew I should have done something. Or done anything.

I have a phone, I still have my house, I still have my parents, I still have everything. But I was helpless because of a rift.

I knew during that day something was very, very, very wrong.

and now, another storm is coming. I know what I am going to do next time.

You know, I was ready to help, I was ready to get down there wet. I was already going,,rah, what the hell I am going to say.

But all because of a senseless and pointless rift. I knew I wouldn't be allowed.

 

I was ready to help.

 

and I still am ready.

 

even if there are differences and inhibitions.

Sunday, October 11, 2009

The Journal: I Work in the Frontlines and Go Beyond Boundaries.

In 2006, I only had a dream: To become a fully-fledged anime Otaku.

In 2007, that dream had upgraded: I want to practice Anime Journalism.

In 2008, I added another wish: I want to become an Correspondent.

and this year, I have a new dream: To work in the frontlines and go beyond boundaries.


"I Work in the Frontlines, and Go Beyond Boundaries", that is my new credo in life. That new credo was bolstered by too much CNN in my TV viewing diet.

This year, I have explored something in my anime life that was not explored by other news organizations, or the so-called Anime media. I have uncovered so many issues, so many words, so many cans of worms.

But I also uncovered the hidden happiness of an anime event, The joys, the triumphs, the sacrifices, everything.

Life has it's own ups and downs, and I am no stranger to that. I have experienced every inch of emotion for this year. Joy, triumph, sadness, anger, defeat, you name it, I had it in 2009.

I learn by experience, I learn by doing it, and as a budding anime journalist. I take mistakes and criticisms like I take my vitamins daily.

Before, I see my critics as vultures who pound on my personal and professional life, my biases and my criticism of them. But now, thanks to a newfound obsession on Phineas and Ferb. I take those critics just like Perry the Platypus always do to Dr. Heinz Doofenshmirtz.

I want to hear those magic words from those Doofenshmirtzes. "Curse You Kira the Correspondent!"

and yeah, those Doofenshmirtzes are really like their Idol, Heinz Doofenshmirtz. THEY ARE REALLY DOOFUSES.


Now, thanks to all those people whom I still consider my real friends. I still rise up from the mud, clean it and continue to work my day and my week.

I love my job, I love being the anime journalist. I relish it 24-slash-7 than my previous posting. I go to events and I live the life of an true anime otaku.


I don't care anymore what happens in the next day, week, month, year, lifetime or the afterlife. I don't even care if I continue to chase someone in the freeway or in the train station after an event. I don't even care if someone tells me in my face or in my back "He is a stalking faggot".

Right now. I work in the Frontlines, and Go Beyond Boundaries.


And that's the way it is.

-HeAdIn'-OuT!-

Wednesday, September 30, 2009

Commentary: The Devastation and The Aftermath

September 26, 2009,

Tropical Storm Ketsana (Philippine Codename: Ondoy) has ravaged 80 percent of Metro Manila, Bulacan, Pampanga and other provinces.

The worse hit areas were Marikina, Pasig, Cainta, San Mateo, Parts of QC like Bagong Silangan and parts of Visayas Avenue, Philcoa and the like.

According to the NDCC, there were at least 290 people dead and the death toll is rising. The footages that were taken by ABS-CBN's camera crews were the poster videos of the destruction Ketsana has made, especially the one shot in the Tumana bridge in Markina.

Now, after the devastation comes the aftermath, the rescue and the relief efforts.

We urge the people to help and donate what you have, Volunteer in efforts made by the Government and the NGO's like Sagip Kapamilya. I wanted to go to the efforts of Sagip, but because of the sheer volume of the volunteers. I decided to go in an another time.

We also urge the presidentiables and all other politicos gunning for 2010 elections to stop political ambitions first and help our kababayans in need.

To sum up, We need each other, let us stop all our bickering, our excessive muckraking and even our personal hatred to help in the rebuilding of our country.

---------------------------------------------

Meanwhile, while Ondoy was devastated by the floods in the Marikina Area, SM City Marikina, the first venue of Heronation, was not spared

The floods have affected the basement parking area, where it was going to be held.

As of press time, I received news that there is now negotiations for a new venue and a new date.

Well, they were stricken when they saw pictures of the floods in Marikina by their Parent network.


Because SM City Marikina is now a no safe haven now for a person, otaku or not.


Saturday, September 19, 2009

Insights Inside AfterEvent Report: Cosplay Mania 2009

WE HAVE DONE another event milestone as Zen Otaku Honbu did again a fantastic job in covering another big anime event, Cosplay Mania 2009

We did our first live tweetcast from the event area itself, all thanks to my colleague theBlocker's power of mobile tweeting. But, in reality for this event, we wanted to do something other than the tweetcast.

As early as August, We were setting our eyes on a Live Stream broadcast from the event area itself, thanks to a member who was willing to join us and use his laptop PC and mobile broadband connection. But sadly, at the last minute, our member had flown to someplace in the country for a more important matter, thus our Live stream plan was held off for a while.

But, nevertheless, we had did the tweeting and we knew the tweetcast was a success.

The photos will be uploaded by my colleague theBlocker using his camera later, because of our policy of watermarking our photos.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

I DONT KNOW
what this user is up to in my site, but this user had said something about my Presence in Cosplay Mania

""And we are giving...headache for our critics this coming Cosplay Mania 2009.

We will try something that was never been done before, and we will try as hell we will."

"If they want a war, so be it, I'll give them a war"

LOL. But during last Sunday's CosMania event, you ran away from 'them' as 'they' were trying to approach and get closer to you. Damn. That was your effing opportunity to give 'them' a piece of your mind.

If you were thinking that 'they' will to kick your ass in public, think again.

As a conclusion, masasabi ko na hindi ka lang pala hanggang sa salita, kundi duwag pa. :-/"

I don't know what the hell this user is trying to say, but first off, I went to the event TO DO MY JOB there as the chief anime correspondent. I went with a purpose there which is to report on the latest breaking news from the event area itself.

Secondly, I knew that the WTF Cosplay group is gunning for a win in Costube, and I was there not only to do my job but as to support our cosplay group. It was the only time I was going to meet them, and I was happy because I became a part of them again, seeing them united and as a whole.

Third, I don't actually know what this user is referring to as '"running away" and "getting closer". For one, I never ran away, I met with all people, expected and unexpected, Hell I even saw some of my old friends from Lyceum and I never ran away from them. I met with the TV5 folks and I never ran away from them.

I want you to clear your mind and tell us what do you think I am "running away" with, For one, I am ready to talk to you and I never ran away from all the issues. And Secondly, I was in the event area the whole day. Have you not recognized my face in the sidelines?

Okay, I will give you again a chance. I will not "run away" on  AniCON, or on any other event to talk on those issues that you want to speak up on me.

And one last thing. I don't only talk. I talk with sense.

And I am not afraid of anything.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

TV5'S BOOTH IN
Cosplay Mania has generated the biggest buzz among the eventgoers last Cosplay Mania

I managed to get in touch with the two big honchos who man TV5's booth in CosMania through theBlocker, TV5's Marketing point man Sir Myk Cruz and TV5's Asst. Brand Manager for Kids and Teens Sir Adrian Arsenal.

I talked with them and asked their reactions about Hero's statements that I had asked during Toycon 2009.

First, I asked them about their Financial capacity. According to Hero, They have all the money to negotiate and to get all the "best" anime titles because they are powered by subscription money.

TV5's reaction: "Well, wala kaming mailulugi kasi Lugi na kami"

And their secret in getting the best Anime titles?

It's their Talentadong Pinoy Money!

That shook the house down!

----------------------------------------------------------------------

ANYWAY, I WOULD
like to thank Sir Pablo Bairan and the men and women of Cosplay.ph for providing again the eventgoers with an another blast in Cosplay Mania 2009, We are hoping for an another explosive Cosplay Mania 2010!

And also, We are happy to announce that Cosplay.ph and Zen Otaku Honbu is going to partner for the biggest and most comprehensive Otaku's Verdict EVER!!

Watch out for that!

----------------------------------------------------------------------

And That's the Way it is.
-HeAdIn'-OuT!-

Saturday, September 12, 2009

Commentary: The Purported H-3 Event

This week, Zen Otaku Honbu has received some reports from CSCNTRL's Multiply site about a news that we are waiting to hear from HeroTV.

It's about their upcoming Last Quarter Big Bang.

To give you a background, I spoke to Sir Pocholo Gonzales on the sidelines of the MetroComiCon held at the SM Megamall last 8 August, and I asked him about if there are preparations that will be done for Hero's big event.

Sir Choy gave me a reply, It will be called "Heronation" and it will be held sometime November.

Just a few days after. Sir Choy confirmed to ZOH's theBlocker again about what I had reported.

And now, We have received info from the aforementioned CSCNTRL that Hero is going to stage their purportedly 5th staging of Hataw Hanep Hero.

and it will be held on 7th of November, 2009, and it will be held..

IN SM CITY MARIKINA!!!



I mean, OF ALL PLACES!, In a recently-opened mall with I guess no convention space whatsoever?!

That was according to our Analysis.


First off, I want to ask the people of HeroTV, is this report really true? Because If CSCNTRL is really true..

(Note: I have no harboring anger against HeroTV, or even its upper management because I have huge respect from them especially that I have did my internship at the channel)

With all due respect, Isn't this year's H3 is now relegated to being a Mall Show that their parent network always does to their shows or movies?

How come this year's H3 will be staged in a Mall which, to us, can not have an ample convention space while the other big events will be staged in a more ample Trade Center or a Convention Center?

And is this year's staging of H3 is tantamount to saying that they have surrendered to the will of TV5 and Animax?

Is Hero poised to commit it's own suicide, since if the date of  7 November is true, they will be competing head to head with Level-up! Live's First Day?

I want to hear the reactions from Hero's upper management, because I, for one, will not believe in the report of a purported sponsor because I will believe more in the people who have higher knowledge of the ins and outs of Hero like Sir Choy Gonzales.


Anyway, Live tweetcast from Cosplay Mania 2009 on http://twitter.com/zohnanime and at http://zohanime.multiply.com

-HeAdIn'-OuT!-

Tuesday, August 25, 2009

Insights Inside 3: I Will Tell You A Story

BEFORE WE DISSECT all the issues in this third installment of Insights Inside, I would like to dedicate this edition to the recently-departed Don Hewitt, the creator of 60 Minutes.

Don Hewitt is one of my producing inspirations like Roone Arledge, He created the first ever TV Debate between JFK and Richard Nixon in 1960, He also produced the first ever half-hour nightly newscast, and before ABS-CBN's historic Cory Aquino Funeral coverage. He made the historic JFK Memorial and funeral coverage in 1963.

But his most important work is the longest-running and top-rating Sunday evening newsmagazine program, 60 Minutes, which as Arledge puts it, is "60 Minutes of first-rate news broadcasting".

Hewitt is competitive, he always snaps out against the competition, but he believed that he is competing not against those who are in his timeslot, but in his own work.

I have read Hewitt's autobio, "Tell Me A Story", published in 2000, and I must say, He really is deserved to be in the same league as what Walter Cronkite did for CBS News.

It may have been a sad year for CBS News, and a sad year for the TV industry, but we will miss those two persons who shaped the course of history for the past half century.

Don Hewitt told us countless stories for the past 50 years. Now it's my turn to tell my story.

And this story, that I will tell, is dedicated to him.

Don Hewitt, December 14, 1922 – August 19, 2009

----------------------------------------------------------------------

IT MAY HAVE
been a watershed year for CBS News, but TV5's first year was not a watershed. In fact, they have been the third force in the TV industry after languishing due to the failures beset by financial crises.

All thanks to the hardwork and dedication of ABC top brass Tonyboy Cojuangco and the TV5 Brass led by Jasper Evangelista.

Imagine, this network which was previously owned by the Roces clan in the 60's and was posed to be a topnotch news station became the topnotch station for Anime. They provided the otakus with topnotch Anime programs like Shakugan no Shana (or Shakugan no Shocker, as one analyst puts it), to the highly political Code Geass, and then to the bigtime hits like The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya and the record-breaking airing of Full Metal Alchemist: Brotherhood which they aired within 7 Weeks of Japan's telecast.

Anime aside, who could even match the blockbuster Saturday lineup of TV5, with the triple-barreled threat of Bossing, Ryan Agoncillo and Oyo Sotto with the return of Who Wants To Be A Millionaire?, the ratings-busting Talentadong Pinoy, and the shocker Midnight DJ, adding to the return of Joey De Leon's hit Wow Mali! and the more powerful Shall We Dance of Lucy Torres.

The money keeps on pouring and pouring to finance a new wave of Anime poaching so to speak. And TV5 is now keen on giving it all on it's first sponsored event, Cosplay Mania 2009, which will happen on 13 September.

Kudos to TV5 on your First Birthday!

----------------------------------------------------------------------

SPEAKING OF COSPLAY
Mania, Anniversaries and Anime. We at Zen Otaku Honbu is keen on celebrating our 5th anniversary which also coincides with the 30th anniversary of Philippine Anime since the historic Voltes V airing on the old GMA in 1979.

And we are giving a bigger bang for our loyal supporters and a headache for our critics this coming Cosplay Mania 2009.

We will try something that was never been done before, and we will try as hell we will..

So just watch it this coming September.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

ANYWAY, TO OUR
critics who really are keen to speak up against Filipino dubbing. If I may, I would like to reprint some of the words our Admin, Anime Kabayan, had spoke.

"May isang anti-dub group sa Multiply na sa sobrang takot banggitin ang salitang "DUBS", "DUB", "DUBBERS", yun letrang "U" ay tinanggal na yata sa kanilang mga keyboard. Kung sila man ay may mga sariling PC, pwede nilang gawin iyun. Kung sila naman ay nakikigamit ng PC sa kapitbahay, sa internet cafe o sa iba pang lugar na merong computer at internet at hindi kanila, malamang na i-ban sila mula sa mga lugar na iyon... FOR LIFE.

"Pahirap sila sa buhay. Sa halip na gamitin ang salitang "DUBBED" ay "localized" ang ginagamit nilang pamalit sa naunang salita. Sabagay, mas komportable nga naman sa kanila ang pahirapan ang kanilang sarili. Malalason yata ang kanilang katawan kapag binanggit nila ang salitang "DUBBED".

Alam kong lahat tayo ay nag-aasam ng QUALITY pagdating sa mga Tagalog-dubbed animes. Pero hindi naman ibig sabihin na pati ang mga Japanese voices, maging ang paraan ng pagbanggit ng Japanese names ay gagawin din ng mga Pinoy dubbers natin, na sa tingin ko ay hindi na magandang ideya. Lalabas tuloy na pinipilit ng mga Pinoy dubbers na maging katulad ng mga Japanese seiyuus. Sa ibang salita, yung mga naghahangad ng sobra sa kakayahan ng mga Pinoy dubbers ay masasabi kong MASYADO NA SILANG MAARTE.

"Once na mapanood natin ang isang Tagalog-dubbed at sa tingin naman natin ay maayos naman nai-deliver ang mga dayalogo nang walang bahid ng kaartehan o iba pa, hindi pa ba sapat na iyon para mag-enjoy sa ating panonood. Totoo nga - MAARTE, DEMANDING ang ilan nating mga kababayan. Again, we have the right for a QUALITY Tagalog-dubbing but we don't have the right to DEMAND TOO MUCH.

"Well, kahit gamitin ng grupong ito ang lahat ng kanilang sinasabing "most effective means", hindi nila magagawang ma-eliminate ang mga sinasabi nilang mga "4th-world-country-DUBBERS". Why? Kung sino mang BAKLA, o BAKA, o STUPIDO, O AROGANTE ang gumawa ng site na ito, kitang-kita ang resulta ng pagtanggap ng mga tao sa kanila. Di hamak na mas maraming mga miyembro ng Zen Otaku Honbu Multiply site kaysa sa di-makataong Multiply site na ito. Kahit nga sa guestbook namin, talbog pa rin sila sa ZOH (11 against 6). Halos lahat ng features ng ZOH Multiply ay talung-talo ng anti-dub group na ito. Bagamat kaming mga admin ang nagsusulat at naglalagay ng mga laman nito, mas ipinapakita namin ang enthusiasm sa aming ginagawa. OK ang komento ni misdead, na mas nakita niya ang kahinaan ng grupong ito. Huwag nyo nang ikatwiran sa akin na merong ibang Multiply sites ang gumagawa ng paninira sa dubbers, pero paano ninyo ipaliliwanag ang pagiging inactive ng site na iyon, gayong bigtime ang paanyaya ninyong sumali at sirain ang mga taong naglalapat ng ating sariling wika?

"At least ako, nanonood man ako ng Japanese anime, Tagalog-dubbed naman - pagtangkilik sa sariling ating... wika. Kung nanonood ka man ng anime, nasaan ang pagka-Pilipino mo?

Payo ko lang, pwede nyo namang isulong ang kasamaan ng anti-dub group ninyo nang hindi ninyo pinakikialaman ang preferences ng mga taong hinihikayat ninyo. May umalis na diyan sa grupo nyo, dahil ayaw niyang makatikim ng mga batikos mula sa mga katulad ko. At saka, ang AROGANTE, BAKA at STUPIDOng mga taong ito ang unang sumalakay sa aking paglalahad ng opinyon. It is clear that they invade my opinions and suggestions. Maliwanag naman na sinasagasaan nila ang pagiging tagasuporta ko ng Tagalog-dubbed kaya hindi pwedeng hindi ko sila balikan.

Hanggang may mga taong naninira sa kapwa nila Pilipino, lalo na ang mga taong sandata ay ang wikang Pilipino para maghikayat ng mga kapwa-Pilipinong manood ng anime, nandito kaming handang lumaban sa kanilang mga masasamang layunin."

If you want to read the full text of the article, go to this site

As for my two cents' worth. They are nothing but useless people not worth of respecting. Respect begets respect, I know that, but if these people are keen on not respecting the views of others. Who will respect them?

I am so sorry for their cadre of followers because they have been so blind in their belief about Dubbing. They have been maligned with their ideologies and their open criticism of the dubs had made them so much as insignificant in this world.

And if you have any concerns to the dubbers, Don't speak it out publicly, Speak it out to the dubbers themselves!

Bottomline: They are just silly beasts who destruct the elements of Anime in this country, and just as I said before, Francis M, Jose Rizal, Ninoy and Cory Aquino will be saddened to hear about these FILIPINOS who pull our kapwa-Filipino down.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

FOR OUR FINAL WORD,
Howard Cosell taught me to tell it like it is, Roone Arledge taught me to build, nurture and to protect a program from any means. Don Hewitt taught me to compete bravely and skillfully, and Bob Schieffer taught me that what failed us may also seem to be the best time for us. To learn from our mistakes.

If they want a war, so be it, I'll give them a war

----------------------------------------------------------------------

http://twitter.com/knightkira

Sunday, August 9, 2009

The Journal: Shaking the way things were

Yesterday was TV5's first year anniversary. It was not so much announced yet celebrated but I had a different way to celebrate this momentous event in Pinoy TV History.

I went to SM Megamall for my coverage of the Metro Comicon 2009. It was the first event I went since that Toycon debacle last June. I thought an almost 2-month hiatus was enough to cure that.

Before the coverage, I and my colleague theBlocker decided to test-run Globe's new unlimited calling service. Globe DUO, which will enable us to call unlimited using our own Globe numbers as Landline numbers. Globe's DUO service will also enable us to call other landlines within Metro Manila for free.

We wanted to try if DUO is comparable to Globe's another Unlimited Service, Unlicalls Nyt which we always use on our roundtable discussions.

And The test results were IMPRESSIVE.

During one of our calls that was made later in the day, We were on the phone for ONE HOUR. Yes, One Hour and it's crystal clear. Unlike Unlicalls Nyt, which cuts for every 30 minutes.

Anyway, I arrived at the event area at 1345PHT, 0145EDT, when I arrived, A dubber's talk was held in cooperation with Creativoices of Sir Choy Gonzales. The dubbers who were there to talk with the audience were Sir Danny Mandia, Klariz Magboo, AJ Constantino and one other dubber I didn't recognize.

I approached them and made my hellos to the pioneers of Dubbing, made a bit of some chitchats and then proceeded to the event area where I first filed my report using Globe DUO

I then met Kuya Ryan, which incidentally was one of the co-organizers of the Event, and I was so thoroughly impressed by the way they organized the event. I walked through all the booths and the comic book area, hoping to get a glimpse of some of the most profound independent works ever.

I was also expecting some friends from the Sentinel to be there, because some of my old coworkers from Senti were releasing an Indie title called "Mananabas". I tried to find it but I was not able to. Later in the day, when I went to the Foodcourt for sustenance, I found two of my old Senti coworkers, Ate Ehdz Rizo and Sef Servanez whom I met and asked for their booth there.

And then, the news came.

First off, J met me with some conflicting reports that he heard about CosTube's extension. When I heard that report, I quickly contacted Anime Kabayan and theBlocker to confirm if the news is true. theBlocker has also some ins with the TV5 brass so he quickly contacted them to confirm if the reports were true.

The returns came later in the afternoon. One of the brass says that there is going to be no extension, but an another brass says that there is an extension until 15 August.

Just only today, There was confirmation, CosTube is going to be extended until 15 August.

And secondly, I talked to Sir Choy for our Podcast via Phonepatch, He discussed things about Creativoices' works and his take on the critics of Pinoy dubbing straight from the distinguished Voice Master.

But my day was not only shaken by my use of Globe DUO and these news, but I was also shaken by the fact that They came.

They came, costripping from DNAngel, incidentally, theBlocker's one of his favorites and an Anime title from TV5. I was talking with him about the instances of the TV5 extension of CosTube.

The next report I made, I broke the news of CosTube's reported extension. And I was near them while doing the phonepatch. I was so sure of it, maybe he knew I was doing the call.

My overall feeling was that, yeah I was still hurt, It still stings me, but the old sting from Toycon was all long gone. I try to feel unhurt, and I try to feel this event as an another event with Suzaku.

Then much later, I was surprised to see some of my old friends from HeroTV, which is, as we all know, the arch-rival of Animax who is one of the sponsors of the event. I approached them doing some backpacks and made some talk regarding Hero's insertion of the famed Yellow Ribbon, establishing Hero as the only Filipino youth and anime channel to honor the late former President.

And speaking of the late former President, I saw a Cory graffiti wall and wrote something there. It says "Tuloy ang Laban".

Perhaps, it was all the words I could sum up for yesterday's coverage. To continue my fight for our Country, for Anime Journalism, for TV5, and for my Friendship.

Yeah, It shook my life all over again, but now it has shaken me the way it was before. Just like what TV5 did a year ago, shaking our TV habits and continually shaking it for all time.


And That's the Way it is.


-HeAdIn'-OuT!-

Saturday, July 25, 2009

Les Miserables on ABS-CBN Coming 3rd August, ATOM (Alpha Teens on Machines) on Disney Coming 13th August, and JONAS on Disney coming 9th August

The Journal: Being a Boto Patroller

When I registered in our Barangay hall last Thursday, I thought everything is going to be just easy. But when my sister went to the hall, we expected a mayhem.

Total Mayhem because of the number of people who turned up, mayhem because of the threat of power outage because of the overload, and mayhem because of the long wait.

But I say, the long wait is okay, as long as I have to exercise

1. My right at a voter, and
2. My right as a Boto Patroller.

Yeah, I am a full-fledged Boto Patroller, thanks to ABS-CBN News' Boto Mo Ipatrol Mo Ako ang Simula.

I am the start of the change, And I want to do it with the most trusted news organization in the country.

Face it, we don't have a steady supply of candidates eligible for Madame's chair, Pollitcos like Manny Villar, Mar "Lalaban Tayo" Roxas, Loren Legarda, Former Pres. Erap Estrada , Gilbert Gibo Teodoro and even Gov. Ed Panlilio are not the ones we have to think over.

They may have the qualifications mandated in the constitution, but still. I don't see them really being qualified to serve the needs of the people.

And that was the reason I joined and became a Boto Patroller, I will exercise my right both as a voter and as a citizen journalist to follow whatever the outcome on the days leading to and on election day itself.

On the sinuous question to myself that "will I still vote even if we moved out of the house maybe before next year?". The answer is YES,

I love QC, I love the city, and I hate it going in the dumpster if Annie Susano becomes Mayor by the use of her iron hands. I will vote for a politico  who will lead QC to a better future than Mayor Sonny Belmonte.

And I am not endorsing any candidate.


Anyway, I am already a Boto Patroller, I want to participate in this country's first ever Automated Elections, or as Juana Change puts it, the "Lotto Elections". I will still think over the candidates and going over their resumes to see who will fit in my choice as Madame's new replacement.

But one thing is for sure. I hate Cha-cha and I hate Con-ass.


And, For the first Time, OTAKU'S VERDICT is cooking up something for the 2010 Presidential Elections, Keep tuned!


The Dissection of Haruhi Suzumiya is Next.

And that's the way it is.

-HeAdIn-OuT!-


ps: Inspired by one of the posts here in multiply

Sunday, July 19, 2009

"And That's the Way It Is": A Tribute to Walter Cronkite



That person above shaped what I wanted to become today.

Who will ever miss the famous sign-off "And That's The Way It Is", which is also my signature ending line for all my blogs.

Who will ever forget the lines he uttered in such historical events, like "From Dallas, Texas, the flash,  apparently official, President Kennedy died at 2'o clock Central Standard time...........some 38 minutes ago", and the now-legendary Tet Offensive editorial which Former President Lyndon Johnson commented, "If I lost Cronkite, I'd lost Middle America"

And who will ever forget his title, "The Most Trusted Man in America" because of his sheer delivery and steadiness in presiding over the CBS Evening News as it's Anchor and Managing Editor for 19 Years.

Walter was, and is, every journalist's icon, an inspiration. He is not only what the others call it as an anchorman, but he was the anchorman. He guided the audience every 6:30 pm Eastern Time through all the news that has happened, and he also was unflappable

On my personal view, I had learned about Walter while I was still in high school, reading a section in a series of yearbooks (i think it's the World Book) called "The Year in News with Walter Cronkite", and I continued to learn more about him through encyclopedias and web researches until I bought his autobiography, called "A Reporter's Life", published in 1997

When I have read his book, and watched on Youtube his anchoring style, I have said to myself, I wanted to be like Walter Cronkite. I wanted to practice his style of journalism in an anime sense. He became my guide, and later my inspiration.

Upon learning of his death, I quickly changed the channel from Disney to CNN and Fox to hear the news, and to hear the words from the people who worked with him and became their mentor, inspiration, guide and friend.

For CBS News veterans like Don Hewitt, who said that he was a "gold standard", Mike Wallace and Bob Schieffer, they lost a friend. To the current Network evening news anchors like Katie Couric, Brian Williams and Charlie Gibson, and the other news anchors from the US local stations and cable news, He was an inspiration and an icon.

But for me, Like I said, I could be inspired by our other local journalists. but my top inspiration is, and forever will be, Walter Cronkite.


"And That's The Way it Is"


Walter Cronkite, November 4, 1916 - July 17, 2009

Sunday, July 12, 2009

Insights Inside 2: Haruhi and HD

SORRY IF IT took long to write my second Insights Inside, there were some circumstances that went beyond my control that was why my 2nd Insight took a long gestation period than expected, Also I plan to write Insights maybe on a bimonthly or a monthly basis so that, at least, it will be regularly seen alongside my news reports and the occasional commentary.

Today, we now tackle another round of issues and controversies that we have seen during the past 2 months that Insights Inside had not seen print on the Online world.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

NOW THAT HARUHI Suzumiya is now coming on TV5 this Monday, July 13th, Many are now preying on the third network on how will they pull off the anime that kept others dancing Hare Hare Yukai worldwide. We at ZOH had been in close contact with the dubbing team who made Haruhi and they told us that this was their most difficult project ever, noting the cultural and the other references that the dubbers have to translate.

But in hindsight, I could say that the dubbers did their job. Hazel Hernan was best in the Haruhi role (in fact, she was the one I was betting for in the Haruhi job in the ZOH forums, alongside with Grace Cornel) as I have seen in the ads and so did the other dubbers too .(all the dubbers used in Haruhi were the creme dela creme of the dubbing world under the direction of Bernie Malejana) I am hoping to the critics that you must watch first the product before you decide to mark it as one of your faves or your hates.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

ABS-CBN HAS NOW upped the ante on Philippine TV with the First ever HD broadcast of the UAAP Games using the Sony XDCAM platform and Sony's HD Cameras.

When I first heard the news that the UAAP will be on HD on Studio 23, I thought ABS-CBN will use a Widescreen format to better appreciate the HD technology, but alas, They used a Cropped 4:3 version for SD sets, It dawned on me that only Balls HD (a specialized HD channel available only on SkyCable and the first CCPMG Channel to be on HD) viewers will only appreciate the HD technology.

Well, at least, it will make the UAAP's bid price more expensive than the PBA, which Solar turned from what they called a "high-tech NBA-styled one" to the same, old PBA we have seen for the past 30 years

And now that Balls has an HD version, what's next? Cinema One HD? Maxxx HD? Velvet HD? or even Hero HD?

----------------------------------------------------------------------

I HAVE BEEN under siege by a person whose name I will withhold. I assume that you have already known him by his "blogs" and his "podcasts" that he says, are the most "innovative"

Now, He is attacking not only me, but the entire ZOH Team for branding us as a "traditional media persons" and treating our contacts as "sources"

Basically, this person is attacking me for all the things I had did to my Suzaku, even commenting on my post titled "The Failure" and branding it as my Melancholy.

And now, He tracks me like crazy not only here in Multiply, but on my YM's and my other media.

Okay, Now I will switch to taglish mode.

Hindi ko alam kung anong nasa isip mo na kailangan mo akong sundan, but YOU HAVE NO RIGHT TO MEDDLE TO ME, TO MY FIGHT OR EVEN TO THE NEWS I POST, hindi kita naging kaibigan at lalong hindi tayo naging close para gawan mo ako ng post at idikta mo sa akin ang kailangan kong gawin.

Hindi ko kailanman hiningi ang advice mo, or even your thoughts on what I had experienced in Toycon. It's a rant and I am entitled to that privilege. Hindi ako pulitiko na kailangan mo akong gawan ng istorya sa blog mo, or sa podcast mo, o sa kahit ano pang media mo.

Isa pa, Wag mong gamitin ang pangalan ko, o ang ZOH para lang makakuha ka ng mga kakampi or mga tagasunod mo. I worked my way up and everybody knew that. Mahirap ang magpakapal ng mukha sa lahat ng tao, pero ginagawa ko ito not for my personal use, but for ZOH, and for the entire Anime community as well to provide anime news that matter to the Otaku. Hindi ko kailanman ginamit ang pangalan ng ibang tao para makapagpakapal ng mukha. I never used anyone. Ikaw, sobra pa sa kalabaw ang pagpapakapal mo ng mukha na ginamit mo ang pangalan ko para lang sa mga interes mo.

Bottomline, No. 1. HINDI AKO PULITIKO para paginteresan mo ako, 2. WAG MONG GAMITIN ANG PANGALAN KO o ANG PANGALAN NG ZOH para GAWIN MO ANG MGA GUSTO MO, at 3. MAGALIT KA NA KUNG MAGAGALIT KA, PERO HINDI KITA KAILANMAN NAGING KAIBIGAN, and YOU HAVE NO RIGHT TO MEDDLE IN MY AFFAIRS WITH ANYONE CLOSE TO ME.

And to the others who had talked with this guy. He has no more connection with me, or with ZOH, so you are talking with a guy who is not connected anymore with the group, or has no business whatsoever with the group on matters either from me, or from ZOH.

We are not responsible for whatever this guy will do to you.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

FOR OUR FINAL WORD,
I accept all advices from my friends, but still, I have the right to decide on my own.

And I never became a Loser, a sore Loser.


----------------------------------------------------------------------

I am now on Twitter, follow me at knightkira, Comments are also welcome, email me at correspondent.kira@gmail.com


And That's the way it is,

-HeAdIn'-OuT!-

Wednesday, July 8, 2009

We Can Now Go with It : The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya Starting 13th July







We Now Confirm it, and finally go with it.

After a month of secrets, middle of the night phone calls, and some internal analysis. This is really is it.


THE MELANCHOLY OF HARUHI SUZUMIYA is now on TV5 Starting Monday, 13 July to combat the Koreans and the Overused Aljur-Kris Loveteam on the other networks.


Now, We would like to know what are your reactions to this, So please give us a ring if you have any comments on the Anime that took the world by storm.


The Main edition airs at 6pm while reruns air Saturdays from 12 noon,



Only, from your Anime Authority, TV5

Saturday, July 4, 2009

The Big Updates on Haruhi and Events

We now confirm 'em.


During the past week, We at ZOH had been bombarded with the latest news and information regarding the dubbing and the upcoming airing of TV5's crown jewel to combat the Koreans and the overused Aljur-Kris loveteam, The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya.

Just a few days ago, Zen Otaku Honbu's Anime Kabayan and theBlocker reported to us about the progress of the anime.

"Narito ang eksaktong pahayag ng source:

"Hi guys! Tapos na naming i-dub ang first 3 eps ng Haruhi Suzumiya. Ang dugo! Gah! Pero I can proudly say that it's all worth it. Isa sa mga pinaka-mahirap gawing anime. Promise."

Nagpakita naman ng positibong tugon at pagsuporta mula sa Zen Otaku Honbu, partikular na sina eggman, ECWGuy at ang inyong lingkod, na siya rin naman tinugunan ng pasasalamat ng aming source.

Noong May 25, una nang ipinahayag ng Zen Otaku Honbu na maraming anime fans sa buong mundo ang napamahal, pumuri at kahit sinasamba ang tropa ni Haruhi Suzumiya. Kaya magiging sentro ng atensyon at magiging mainit sa mata ng mga kritiko ang gagawing Tagalog-dubbed version ng TV5 sa naturang sikat na anime series.

At mukhang handa naman ang TV5 at maging ang Lapat-Tinig Dubbers Association of the Philippines na harapin ang mga ito."

According to our sources in the production, Haruhi, in their opinion, is probably the most difficult anime that they have worked on. And also, from our assumptions, this anime will still be dubbed even as the show is already airing on TV5, thence, repeating the situation of Toradora! a few weeks ago.

Here is the complete cast for Haruhi Suzumiya on ANN as confirmed by Zen Otaku Honbu.


In my opinion, this is going to be a litmus test to TV5 and Lapat Tinig to prove themselves worthy of all dyed in the wool anime otakus, Haruhi fan or not.

And also, this is also going to be a proving point if TV5's readiness to combat the entrenched primetime blocks will climb them out of the hole.

Well, We are going to wait for the airing this July.

And meanwhile, We now go to the events scene. Also this week, we received reports from numerous online blogs that Otaku Taiiki 2009, the event that was supposed to be held today, July 4th, has been moved to a later date sometime either next month.

The reasons about the move were not reported.

But another event is now already been scheduled, Mangaholixx Manga Mania 2009 is reportedly going to be held sometime in November, the tentative date being November 21st.

But the news here is there are some reports that this is going to be a 5-day event, but as I put it, WE ARE NOT SURE. Also the venue has already been revealed, it will be held at the World Trade Center.

But, we are still going to confirm everything about these two events and all other events and anime news so keep posted here for the Latest.

And that's the way it is.

Thursday, June 25, 2009

The More Serious Virus

It's all over the papers, the Radio and TV.

A(H1N1) is already spreading in the Metro,

But there is a more serious pandemic that is spreading.

It's the Korean Pandemic.



Admit it. ABS-CBN is going uber-gaga over the Korean F4 Fever. And I hate to say it, or even admit it that the Kapamilya network is going all out for the Koreans rather than to improve more on their Anime schedule.


Recently, I was offended by a recent ad promoting Varga on the Umaganda block. It shows that their Korean anchor program is comparable to all FOUR (that is, FOUR) shows in the block. Isn't it disheartening that ABS-CBN is comparing both Katekyo Hitman Reborn and Naruto over a single Korean program?!


Isn't it high time for ABS-CBN to wake up since TV5 is not yet ready to make changes in their primetime lineup (with Haruhi as their anchor) until July? And What is ABS-CBN replacing Reborn! with? A Cheap-o Chinese made Animation!


And I was more appalled when MYX is keen on the deluge of the Korean fans by accepting on the countdown an entry from 2NE1, Okay, I know Sandara is there (she still captures the masa market) but isn't it kinda of overkill?


I'm kinda disappointed that MYX is keen on subtitling songs from Korea and Taiwan rather from J-pop and J-rock artists. Hell, J-rock and J-pop is MORE BETTER than Taiwan and at least comparable to Korea. But in the bureaucratic nature of things. All J-pop and J-rock songs must be relegated to Hero because (they thought) J-pop and J-rock is deemed as Anime music, and Anime Music is... of course, going to HeroTV.


Okay, You must think I am overreacting, but Hey, I am an anime otaku, and I have the right to defend anime, j-music and all of it's related protocultures in a manner that Anime should be respected by the networks not as a "children's material" but as a more serious programming genre suited for all ages.


If ABS-CBN needs a vaccine, then they should get it fast, to avoid the spreading-out of the Korean pandemic.


And that's the way it is.

Saturday, June 13, 2009

The Journal - Failure

I have to make personal condolences to Anime Kabayan and Genjo Sanzo on their Father who passed away yesterday during my Coverage of Toycon.

It's going to be a sad Father's day for them.

Again, from me and my family, I condole with them in their mourning.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
I had not written a very personal blog for a long time. I think now it's the right time to do this again, because I cannot let this thing happen again.

When they said that Thirteen (13) was the unluckiest number, I think I have fallen prey to that.

June 13, 2009, The First Day of The 8th Philippine Toycon.


I arrived at the mall 5 minutes before 2pm, and I arrived at the event area 10-15 minutes later. I was not ready to make a firsthand report because I have not been in the event for 30 minutes, So I had to make a preliminary analysis to ZOH News.

I went first to the HeroTV Booth to meet my old bosses, Sir Ruel Ferrer and Ate DJ Hernandez with Pappy George Salire, We made hellos and asked some issues that concerned HeroTV, then met with Kuya Arjay at the event site to find for the cosplayer's area.

I was at my most excited state during the first 2 hours. During that time, I have already sent the first SMS report. And at around 4pm, I saw Paolo.

Okay, I saw him, but he only greeted me lamely, a simple "hi", that's all. I wanted to talk to him, but he was too busy.

Then, about the time I wanted to do my first call. Suzaku came.

I was so stricken, first because I am tired from work earlier before (having just arrived at the house barely before 10am), and then nobody except those I had met were keen on talking to me.

At around 4pm. I filed my first and last audio report from the Megatrade, I was doing the reportage while I was having my eyes at Suzaku and the others. I was doing the report as loudly as possible, so that Suzaku can hear what the hell am I doing right now. I am losing my words while doing that report. But I don't care. I want Suzaku to hear my report Loud and Clear to the brink of losing my voice. I am also so nervous at the time I was filing it. But I tried to calm myself and compose while bringing in the report to our Otakus who are not able to join in.

I ended the call at around 4:40pm, and I tried to go down first to lose some steam, I was tired, and here. I saw Suzaku. At that time, I contemplated, I don't see the point going to Toycon. But I have a duty first as an otaku then second as the Chief Anime Correspondent. I have to do my job for the otakus, So then and there, I decided to continue.

I went back to the event venue and took some more pictures. Then at around 5pm. Suzaku, Paolo and their companions arrived at the event area. I was at the Hero booth talking with my supervisor Ate DJ. I approached Kuya G and made a silly rendition of "Pappy mo ako" to hide my nervousness.

Fast forward to 7pm. They had decided to go home. I had decided too to follow them,, If they go home at MRT, I will go home too but earlier. Not my normal time to go home to an event, but what the hell. I am doing this so I can urge him to talk.

I Followed them. I looked like crazy or looked like an Idiot, BUT I DIDN'T CARE!

I wanted to talk.

At the MRT Ortigas station. I was ready to ride at the same coach as theirs. But as the door opened. when I went inside the same coach. They changed coaches, and I tried to join them in the same coach. But in just a split second. The Doors closed. and the train left.

I was there, at the station, Fuming.

I was still fuming when I went back to Megamall. Heavily depressed.

A few hours more, while I was reading at Powerbooks. My eyes dripped tears. I realized that today, I experienced the greatest Failure ever, while I was having a supposedly great time at the Toycon.

I was crying when I went home, and after I arrived, Changed clothes, never ate and slept.

During the time I was sleeping. I had dreamed again a Suzaku dream, but that was the opposite. I was rushing towards him, and then he talked to me.

Yeah, to me that was a dream. But the events yesterday were a nightmare.

I never felt so lower in my life. I decided earlier not to continue with my training, and also I have decided also to my parents not to force me to work on weekends.

And then here, at this very moment, I saw Suzaku, but he tried to Block me.

I was ready to accept his punches, but Paolo does not want to do it.

I reiterate. I DON'T CARE WHETHER I WILL LET GO OR NOT. I WILL DIE PURSUING THIS FRIENDSHIP.


I have decided then and there. I will accept death by being punched by someone I know like my bestfriend rather than to be assassinated by an unknown assailant.



------------------------------------------------------------
Yesterday, I thought, was the day of Failures. I failed my Parents, I failed my Friends, I failed my Mission, I failed in everything.


And It was my own goddamned fault.

That Is why I am leaving you all with a question. because I have been thinking heavily these past hours.


Did I fail You all as my Friends?

I want to know!


Because If I never failed you, There wouldn't be a Suzaku right now going to punch me or not talking to me.




And that's the way it is.